There are 13 SEC teams playing in college football bowl games to finish off the 2021 season.

Every SEC team except Vanderbilt won the required six regular season games to become eligible.

Both Alabama (12-1) and Georgia (12-1) qualified for the College Football Playoff after the Crimson Tide beat the Bulldogs to win the SEC Championship on Dec. 4, 2021.

The Crimson Tide received the No. 1 seed in the playoff and will play No. 4 Cincinnati in the Cotton Bowl on Dec. 31.

Georgia, on the other hand, was named the No. 3 seed and will face No. 2 Michigan in the Orange Bowl on the same day.

Note: This post will be updated throughout the day as bowl games are announced and betting odds are made available. Hat tip to Action Network’s Brett McMurphy, who has done a great job of breaking news on all of these bowl games.

2021 SEC Football Bowl Schedule

All times posted are Eastern standard time.

SEC TeamBowl GameOpponentDateTime TVResult
AlabamaCotton BowlCincinnatiDec. 313:30 p.m.ESPN
ArkansasOutback BowlPenn St.Jan. 1NoonESPN2
AuburnBirmingham BowlHoustonDec. 28NoonESPN
FloridaGasparilla BowlUCFDec. 237 p.m.ESPNUCF won 29-17
GeorgiaOrange BowlMichiganDec. 317:30 p.m.ESPN
KentuckyCitrus BowlIowaJan. 11 p.m.ABC
LSUTexas BowlKansas St.Jan. 49 p.m.ESPN
Mississippi St.Liberty BowlTexas TechDec. 286:45 p.m.ESPN
MissouriArmed Forces BowlArmyDec. 228 p.m.ESPNArmy won 24-22
Ole MissSugar BowlBaylorJan. 18:45 p.m.ESPN
South CarolinaMayo BowlNorth CarolinaDec. 3011:30 a.m.ESPN
TennesseeMusic City BowlPurdueDec. 303 p.m.ESPN
Texas A&MGator BowlWake ForestDec. 3111 a.m.ESPNCanceled due to COVID-19

Cotton Bowl: Alabama Crimson Tide vs. Cincinnati Bearcats

Cotton Bowl Alabama Cincinnati

The Alabama Crimson Tide won the 2021 SEC Championship by beating Georgia on Dec. 4, and they received the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff as a result. Nick Saban has led the Crimson Tide to yet another CFP appearance, which will be held at the Cotton Bowl in Arlington, Texas. Alabama is the defending national champions.

Cincinnati, which beat Houston to win the American Athletic Conference, will enter the playoff as a Group of 5 representative with a 13-0 record. Coach Luke Fickell has been one of the more sought after names in college football, but he remains with the Bearcats as they pursue a national championship.

Orange Bowl: Georgia Bulldogs vs. Michigan Wolverines

Orange Bowl Georgia Michigan

Georgia did not win the SEC title game and will not have a perfect season after finishing the regular season 12-0, but none of that will matter if Kirby Smart’s Bulldogs win the national championship.

That starts on Dec. 31 at the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida, as the No. 3 ranked Bulldogs seek a semifinals victory against No. 2 seed Michigan Wolverines.

Michigan is 12-1 and won its first Big Ten conference title under Jim Harbaugh by beating Iowa during championship weekend. The Wolverines knocked off Ohio State the week before and are considered one of the hottest teams in all of college football.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s