The SEC will have nine teams participating in bowl games to finish out the 2019 football season.

Following LSU’s victory against Georgia in the SEC Championship Game, it was revealed that the Tigers would be the top seed in the College Football Playoff.

After placing two teams in the playoff in consecutive seasons, the SEC is back to just one representative in 2019. LSU will be joined by Ohio State, Clemson and Oklahoma.

Georgia and Florida will receive the opportunity to represent the league in the New Years Six bowls, while CFP-regular Alabama fell all the way to the Citrus Bowl in spite of a 10-2 record.

In total, nine of the 14 SEC teams qualified to play in bowl games after the completion of the 2019 football regular season. The minimum requirement was a six-win regular season. Missouri had the required six wins, but was left out of the bowl season due to a one-year postseason ban issued by the NCAA.

SEC teams in bowl play

  • Alabama
  • Auburn
  • Florida (New Year’s Six)
  • Georgia (New Year’s Six)
  • Kentucky
  • LSU (College Football Playoff)
  • Mississippi State
  • Tennessee
  • Texas A&M

SEC teams NOT in bowl play

  • Arkansas
  • Missouri
  • Ole Miss
  • South Carolina
  • Vanderbilt

Here’s a look at the bowl slate for the SEC in 2019:

2019 SEC football bowl games

Academy Sports and Outdoors Texas Bowl

Texas A&M Aggies vs. Oklahoma State Cowboys
Date: December 27, 2019
Location: NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas
TV details: 6:45 p.m. ET on ESPN2

College Football Playoff Semifinal: Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl

LSU Tigers vs. Oklahoma Sooners
Date: December 28, 2019
Location: Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga.
TV details: 4 p.m. ET on ESPN

Note: If LSU wins, the Tigers will advance to the National Championship Game. It will be held at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, La. on January 13, 2020.

Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl

Mississippi State Bulldogs vs. Louisville Cardinals
Date: December 30, 2019
Location: Nissan Stadium in Nashville, Tenn.
TV details: 4 p.m. ET on ESPN

New Year’s Six Bowl: Capital One Orange Bowl

Florida Gators vs. Virginia Cavaliers
Date: December 30, 2019
Location: Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Fla.
TV details: 
8 p.m. ET on ESPN

Belk Bowl

Kentucky Wildcats vs. Virginia Tech Hokies
Date: December 31, 2019
Location: Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C.
TV details: Noon ET on ESPN

Vrbo Citrus Bowl

Alabama Crimson Tide vs. Michigan Wolverines
Date: January 1, 2020
Location: Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla.
TV details: 1 p.m. ET on ABC

Outback Bowl

Auburn Tigers vs. Minnesota Golden Gophers
Date: January 1, 2020
Location: Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla.
TV details: 1 p.m. ET on ESPN

Allstate Sugar Bowl

Georgia Bulldogs vs. Baylor Bears
Date: January 1, 2020
Location: Mercedes-Benz Stadium in New Orleans, La.
TV details: 8:45 p.m. ET on ESPN

TaxSlayer Gator Bowl

Tennessee Vols vs. Indiana Hoosiers
Date: January 2, 2020
Location: TIAA Bank Stadium in Jacksonville, Fla.
TV details: 7 p.m. ET on ESPN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s